Skip to content

When Manie Was Born

May 28, 2007

I had a normal pregnancy with Manie. I even had a couple of ultrasounds done while I was pregnant with Manie. There were no clues that Manie had a rare heart defect. I had already 3 perfectly healthy kids and did not expect for Manie to be any different.

As soon as Manie was born he began to turn blue. The more he cried the more he turned blue. Our doctor did not know what was wrong with Manie. The doctor thought that it might be his heart or his lungs.

Manie was flown to a hospital an hour and a half away from where we live. I had to stay at the hospital where I had Manie. The doctors called me when Manie arrived and told me Manie had transposition of the great arteries.

I was told that Manie had to have a procedure done to save his life. The doctors went through the artery on the inside of Manie’s right leg. The doctors snaked a balloon all the way through the artery to Manie’s heart. Once the doctors were in Manie’s heart they blew the balloon up and ripped a hole in Manie’s heart.

In the days following the surgery Manie’s leg and foot started to turn a dark purple. The doctors told us that Manie may have to have his leg amputated because the procedure damaged the artery in Manie’s leg.

Right before Manie’s open heart surgery the doctors put Manie on blood thinners. Shortly after putting Manie on blood thinners they were able to detect a pulse in Manie’s foot. Manie kept his leg.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. cindy schults permalink
    May 18, 2007 1:42 pm

    Thank you for putting this information out there. I believe its important for every mother to know that risks involved with taking any medication.Pharmacutical companies need to be help responsible for the medication they are making.Manie is so special, and if there was reliable information supplied to you and your doctor this would have never happen to this wonderful little boy.

  2. Julie permalink
    May 20, 2007 10:45 am

    Thanks for the comment Cindy. I think it is important that women understand what they mean by “could cause birth defects”.The side effects of this medication are horrible to say the least. You said “if there was reliable information out there.” There was misleading information out there.Manie is a wonderful little boy and it is sad that this had to happen to him and others like him.

  3. Fiddy permalink
    May 21, 2007 5:26 am

    Yet another horror story regarding Paxil. The truth is, Glaxosmithkline knew about birth defects many years ago yet decided to keep quiet as not to affect the sales. I see you have already added my blog, Seroxat Sufferers, please click the links to read more about pregnancy and Paxil.The Truthman has wrote about this here:http://seroxatkillsbabies.wordpress.com/Bob

  4. Julie permalink
    May 21, 2007 1:30 pm

    Thanks for the comment Fiddy. I am aware that paxil knew what could happen to my son. Yet they did nothing to stop it from happening. Day after day I think if only someone would have said something this would not have happened. If it was a normal average joe that did something like this to a baby would’nt that be considered child abuse? Thanks for bringing up the subject Fiddy and for adding us to your blog too! Julie

  5. Truthman30 permalink
    May 21, 2007 2:06 pm

    Hello Julie I have a blog about Paxil ( called Seroxat in the UK) http://truthman30.wordpress.com/I have recently written a post on Paxil induced defects Maybe you would like to check it out, and maybe add it to your blog roll?…Thanks..truthman

  6. Julie permalink
    May 21, 2007 5:55 pm

    Thanks for the info Truthman30.I checked out your blog. Wow you have alot of intersting info there. I have added a link to your post. Thanks for taking your time to inform the people. Julie

  7. Truthman30 permalink
    May 21, 2007 11:31 pm

    No Problem Julie ..Thanks for blogging a link to my blog.. I wish you and Manie all the best..🙂

  8. Anonymous permalink
    May 24, 2007 12:01 am

    I can’t believe what a greedy thing those people did! 😦 They knew this would happen, but kept on selling it!!!!!KELSEY

  9. Julie permalink
    May 24, 2007 1:48 am

    Thanks for the comment Kelsey. I think it is horrible too. That is why we are wanting to get the word out and tell people the truth about what can happen if you take paxil when you are pregnant.Julie

  10. Gibran permalink
    July 20, 2007 5:19 pm

    I’ve read three posts on your blog and I’m left speechless. On one hand it is an incredibly sad story because of what your son has to live with, but on the other hand it is inspiring because of the fact that he continues to live courageously. It’s very disturbing that there are so many dangerous drugs which are “approved” for use. I have a website that contains information on < HREF="http://www.onlinelawyersource.com/paxil/birth-defects.html" REL="nofollow">Paxil birth defects<>, drug lawsuit information, and information on other dangerous drugs. Keep up the work on the blog.

  11. Julie permalink
    July 21, 2007 1:14 am

    Thanks for the post gibran. Also thank you for getting the word out about Paxil and birth defects. I think it is so important that people know what the risk of taking Paxil when you are pregnant look like. That is why I decided to make this blog about Manie. It does not matter if the risk is great or small we are talking about tiny babies who we are suppose to protect. I can not imagin any mother wanting to take that risk with her baby. GSK likes to belittle the risk and by saying the risk are small and that there is a chance a woman could hurt her unborn child if she is depressed. I say if a woman is so depressed that it could hurt her unborn child then she needs more help then Paxil can give her. I guess that is just my opinion. Also I want Manie to be an inspriation, like you said, to those who need inspriation. Manie and all the babies who have been through this are more than a statistic. I could not just sit by watching with my mouth shut. I just want everyone to know that this is not acceptable. Some where some time the line has to be drawn and I am drawing it.Julie

  12. Amy Philo permalink
    February 28, 2008 9:16 pm

    Julie, more bad news… Clinton signed on to the MOTHERS Act on Monday. Email me at amy@uniteforlife.orgHave you signed my petition yet?http://www.thepetitionsite.com/1/stop-the-dangerous-and-invasive-mothers-actIf you want to help me stop this let me know!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

Libtardia University

Red Pill My Professor

Focus on the Facts

with Evie Pringle

Pedogeddon

Together we will save our children from the pedocaust of Pizzagate.

Jill Stein Recount: Citizens' Audit

Election Integrity Group

Eat This, Read This

watch this, need this

Protective Mothers' Alliance International

family court abuse/corruption

Foreskin is Not A Birth Defect

Psalm 139: 13-16: "For You formed my inward parts; You wove me in my mother’s womb. I will give thanks to You, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Wonderful are Your works, And my soul knows it very well. My frame was not hidden from You, When I was made in secret, And skillfully wrought in the depths of the earth; Your eyes have seen my unformed substance; And in Your book were all written, The days that were ordained for me, When as yet there was not one of them."

